Posted by: furmanbisher | September 1, 2008

Here’s To Old Faithful—Dial Never Fails

Another whopper of a hurricane bears down upon us, and as it does this pertinent thought comes to mind. We’ve all been through something of the sort, ice storm, flood and tornadoes that ripped trees across our roadways and felled power lines. Let me tell you how we have managed in such a crisis.

When we moved into our present home I brought with me two old dial phones, simply because I couldn’t think of anything else to do with them. “Whatever you do,” the phone man told me, “don’t get rid of them. When everything else goes out, those old dial phones always come through because they don’t use electricity.”

Well, I was down in Mexico with the Braves on a spring training trip, and we discovered we had just dodged a windstorm that ripped up the Southeast something awful. A hard freeze followed, I’d heard, so I called home. My wife heard the old dial phone ring and clutched it in her hand. “Oh, I’m so grateful,” she said. “I have no heat. We’re out of water. Everything is frozen over and this is the first sound I’ve had from the outside world. The other phones don’t work.”

“Of course not,” I said, so intelligently. “They run on power, but not my trustworthy old dial phones. They always work, through blizzard, hurricane, flood or whatever.”

We both gave belated thanks to those antiquated phones, and they are still in place. Don’t get too modern for something old and seemingly as out of date as an Edsel. Keep those old dial phones in place, they’ll always see you through any storm, even Gustav.


Leave a Reply

Categories

